Rules of Seduction

imageThe first rule of seduction is: don’t fall in love.

Fresh out of college, Dani Young heads for the LA sun to chase her dream of becoming a screenwriter-director. So when her former BFF turned actress Elise offers Dani the opportunity to work on the hit teen show Vamp Camp, Dani can’t refuse, even if it comes at a price: Elise wants Dani to seduce her boyfriend, Vamp Camp superstar Tate Lawrence. Turns out Elise has some major trust issues, and needs Dani to test Tate’s faith. The only rule: don’t fall in love with him.

Sure, Dani doesn’t mind occasionally glimpsing Tate’s megawatt smile…or accidentally-on-purpose brushing up against his perfect torso…but she’s no fool. There’s no way she’d ever fall for a shallow celebrity and no way one would fall for her, a lanky movie nerd.

But amidst vampire-crazed fans, a conniving fellow intern, and a devilishly handsome showrunner, Dani feels like all the rules she used to know have disappeared, except for one: Love doesn’t play by the rules.

Part The Devil Wears Prada, part How To Lose a Guy in Ten Days, this story of friendship and romance is sure to appeal to fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jennifer E. Smith, and Anna Todd.

A great novel! Another wonderful book from PLL. I’m always impressed with what their new authors produce. Anyways. This book was interesting in the fact that the heroine was more on the “new adult” side of the age spectrum. She was fresh out of college, and starting her own life. Yet, the book still managed to stay very teen friendly. It was a fast paced read, and kept me interested. It could be considered both YA as well as NA in my opinion. It was well written, but still had a debut feel to it, which I quite enjoyed. I love reading novels from newer authors, since you can feel the passion in their writing. And, RULES OF SEDUCTION had that aspect for me. My only real criticism, is I would have liked to have seen the first few chapters drawn out a bit more. Everything happened so quickly, that I really didn’t feel any of the mishaps were very serious. It just felt… Too easy, I guess… But, the rest of the book was great! I enjoyed it immensely, and highly recommend checking it out.

Maddie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *